My Blog about Books

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Posts Tagged ‘book’

The Red Scarf by Kate Furnivall

Posted by bookinn on June 12, 2009

The Red Scarf

The Red Scarf By Kate Furnivall

What an awesome story. Loved every minute of it. I wanted to run to Anna and rescue her from that horrible place and i wanted to help Sofia convince Vasily to help her rescue Anna.  The story is touching and sad and happy and heartbreaking,  of course everything you want in a good book.

The story set in Russia, during the reign of Stalin. The labor camps for so called “criminals” were harsh and torturous, similar to the holocaust camps. Sofia and Anna as slaves, living hour by hour, minute by minute. Anna is dangerously ill and Sofia decides that she must escape to find Vasily , Annas lost love, to help her rescue Anna before she dies.

Sofia  finds the town Tivil, where Anna says Vasily is living and falls in love with Mikhail who she thinks is Vasily. WELL you’ll have to read the story to find out what happens to Anna, Sofia, Vasily and Mikhail.  You won’t be able to put it down.

Natalie


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Posted in Book Talk | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Theater Thursday

Posted by bookinn on June 11, 2009

My Sisters Keeper

Release date June 26, 2009 is the movie from the book My Sisters Keeper by Jodi Picoult. I loved the book as well as all of Picoults books.
I can’t wait to see it!

Starring: Cameron Diaz as Sara Fitzgerald  , Sofia Vassilieva as Kate Fitzgerald, Alec Baldwin as Campbell Alexander, Jason Patric as Brian Fitzgerald,  Abigail Breslin as Anna Fitzgerald  .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdZZLdjBfCI

Posted in Book Talk | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Recieved notice that i just

Posted by bookinn on May 28, 2009

snagged Tender Graces By Kathryn Magendie!! Amazon description:

Product Description
TENDER GRACES Kathryn Magendie Trade paperback, April 2009, Bell Bridge Books Contemporary Women’s Fiction, Southern A gentle yet unflinching look at how we find our way home. A woman returns to her West Virginia roots to resolve the ghosts of her childhood. In the tradition of Rebecca Wells, Sue Monk Kidd, Olive Ann Burns, and Dorothy Allison. TENDER GRACES by Kathryn Magendie is strong literary women’s fiction written with exquisite style. The death of her troubled mother and memories of her abused grandmother lure a young woman back to the Appalachian hollow where she was born. Virginia Kate, the daughter of a beautiful mountain wild-child and a slick, Shakespeare-quoting salesman, relives her turbulent childhood and the pain of her mother’s betrayals. Haunted by ghosts and buried family secrets, Virginia Kate struggles to reconcile three generations of her family’s lost innocence. Rave reviews include: “Kathryn Magendie’s TENDER GRACES is a powerful, moving and beautifully written debut. With rich detail, vivid imagery and finely drawn characters who leap off the page, drag you into their lives and make you root for them, this book will command your attention all the way to the final page…and leave you wishing for more.”–Danielle Younge-Ullman, author of FALLING UNDER “Kathryn Magendie’s TENDER GRACES leaves a ghostly trail of broken hearts from by-God West Virginia to Texas to the shimmering seasons of Louisiana where real love and an unexpected home is found for a lost child. Reminiscent of early Lee Smith and Silas House, Magendie’s Virginia Kate Carey is the steady beating pulse of this beautiful narrative that sweeps through a lifetime of loss, grief, and ultimately redemption and what it means to go home again.” – Kerry Madden, author, Gentle’s Holler “Gifted” – Deborah LeBlanc, author “Powerful” – Angie Ledbetter, author “Arresting” – David Madden, author “A poem to childhood” – Ed Cullen, NPR contributor “Held me spellbound” – Cheryl’s Book Nook reviews “Poetic” — J. Kaye’s Book Blog “Poignant and funny” – Booklove reviews “Simply amazing” – Firestalker Reviews “I truly couldn’t put it down” – Suburban Sanity Reviews “Don’t miss this book”—The Serenity Room Reviews “Highly recommended – Kaye’s Penguin Posts Reviews “TENDER GRACES by Kathryn Magendie is the kind of book that sticks with you long after you finish it. I turned the last page this morning, and I still can’t get the characters out of my head. . . I highly recommend Tender Graces, and I know it will make my list of favorite books for the year.” – Diary of an Eccentric Reviews “This is supposed to be a review of Kathryn Magendie’s exquisite literary novel, not a general discussion of my father’s peculiarities, but maybe that’s my point. Tender Graces became part of my family. Virginia Kate could have been me. Her mother could have been my father’s mother. Her brother Micah could have been my Dad. Maybe that’s the highest praise I could ever give a book anyway: I couldn’t separate my reality from Magendie’s fiction.” – Katrina Stonoff, Let it Simmer Reviews

Sounds like a wonderful story and can’t wait to read it!

Tender Grace

Natalie

Posted in Book Talk | Tagged: , , , , , | 2 Comments »

Prayers for the Dead -Faye Kellerman

Posted by bookinn on May 3, 2009

Prayers for the DeadBy Faye Kellerman



Summary :

The brutal murder of Dr. Azor Sparks in an alley behind a restaurant is greeted with public outrage and a demand for swift, sure justice. But the investigation into the well-known surgeon’s death is raising too many questions and providing too few answers for homicide detective Lieutenant Peter Decker. Why, for example, would the family of a man so beloved respond to his slaying with more surprise than grief? And what linked a celebrated doctor with strict fundamentalist beliefs to a gang of outlaw bikers? But the most unsettling connection of all is the one that ties the tormented Sparks family to Peter Decker’s own — and the secrets shared by a renegade Catholic priest…and Decker’s wife, Rina Lazarus.

Original title: Prayers for the Dead
Original languages: English

Azor Sparks, a well known heart surgeon is found brutally murdered.  Azors 6 adult children, his biker buddies and his research team are under suspicion.  Twists and turns and a surprising end makes this a very entertaining story.
On a scale of 1-10 i would give this a 9.  Due to some parts were a little drawn out but gave the story more depth.

Prayers for the Dead


Now onto:   The Mephisto Club By Tess Gerritsen

Novels:

Series:

Posted in Book Talk | Tagged: , , , , , | 3 Comments »

Currently reading

Posted by bookinn on July 31, 2008

My Father’s Paradise: A Son’s Search for his Jewish Past in Kurdish Iraq

So far its very interesting. Lots of historical information.
From Amazon:
Product Description
In a remote and dusty corner of the world, forgotten for nearly three thousand years, lived an ancient community of Kurdish Jews so isolated that they still spoke Aramaic—the language of Jesus. Mostly illiterate, they were self-made mystics and gifted storytellers, humble peddlers and rugged loggers who dwelt in harmony with their Muslim and Christian neighbors in the mountains of northern Iraq. To these descendants of the Lost Tribes of Israel, Yona Sabar was born.

In the 1950s, after the founding of the state of Israel, Yona and his family emigrated there with the mass exodus of 120,000 Jews from Iraq—one of the world’s largest and least-known diasporas. Almost overnight, the Kurdish Jews’ exotic culture and language were doomed to extinction. Yona, who became an esteemed professor at UCLA, dedicated his career to preserving his people’s traditions. But to his first-generation American son Ariel, Yona was a reminder of a strange immigrant heritage on which he had turned his back—until he had a son of his own.

My Father’s Paradise is Ariel Sabar’s quest to reconcile present and past. As father and son travel together to today’s postwar Iraq to find what’s left of Yona’s birthplace, Ariel brings to life the ancient town of Zakho, telling his family’s story and discovering his own role in this sweeping saga. What he finds in the Sephardic Jews’ millennia-long survival in Islamic lands is an improbable story of tolerance and hope.

Populated by Kurdish chieftains, trailblazing linguists, Arab nomads, devout believers—marvelous characters all— this intimate yet powerful book uncovers the vanished history of a place that is now at the very center of the world’s attention.

Posted in Book Talk | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »