My Blog about Books

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Father In Law

Posted by bookinn on April 21, 2008

I have to tell this story, because its a hoot and it also reminds you that not everyone is computer literate.

My father in law called me today…… He said when he clicks on explorer, the page says “this page cannot be found…..” hmmm, i was thinking, trying to figure out how i was going to help him with this. See, my father in law knows as much about computers as Bill Gates would know about knitting, probably little to nothing. So you can imagine my dilemma.
First i decide he needs to find the network connection and double click the icon to open it .
So i tell him, click on the start button… he said ok and then i said, now click on control panel. He hesitates and says there is no control panel. He said in the start panel there is only a couple of items and thats it. Well thats strange i was thinking because it had been there before.
So i began, ” on the desktop do you see your connection shortcut?” He said yes… Ok great. Put your mouse on the shortcut and right click on it and then click on properties. Soo i wait and he says wheres properties? Well, i tell him , its the last one in the menu. He says there is no properties in the list. This is strange, i asked him “when you right click on it , what does it say? He says it says “click” …….. what? I said, “it says click?” He says “yes”. “So when you right click on it , it says “click”, he said yes. I have never heard of the that before. I tell him well, i’ll have to come out there and see whats going on with your computer, you have a virus or trojan .

I see him later on and ask him, did you fix your computer? He said yes, it works. Soooo what happened? We show him what right clicking on the shortcut looks like. So do you know what he said?
Well, when i told him to “right click” he thought i was saying to ” WRITE CLICK” so he typed CLICK!!!!!! So thats why his shortcut says CLICK because he typed CLICK!!!
Ohhh i just shake my head and was reminded that he really doesn’t know anything about computers, he one time, called and said if he moves his mouse over to far he’s afraid it will fall off the screen.

Best regards,

4 Responses to “My Father In Law”

  1. kweenmama said

    Funny story! My mom is just as clueless about computers. She once called my brother in a panic because her screen saver had popped up. 🙂

  2. bookinn said

    LOL!!!!!

  3. […] No Any Key, Either! My Father In Law My father in law called me today…… He said when he clicks on explorer, the page says “this […]

  4. Bike said

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Bike!!

Leave a Reply

 
